RPDEV at the Boao Forum for Asia (BFA) Conference

Annually, RPDEV as a foundation member of the Boao Forum for Asia (BFA), organizes a Philippine delegation composed of RPDEV Trustees, government officials, and business executives that attend the BFA’s annual conference in the island resort of Boao, Hainan Province, China.

The BFA was established in 2001 as an “Asian Forum” on the initiative of three Asian Leaders – former Philippine President Fidel V. Ramos, former Australian Prime Minister Bob Hawke and former Japanese Prime Minister Morihiro Hosakawa. It is the first Asia-focused international forum, which enables delegates to view the world from an Asian perspective, and enhance economic links within and beyond the Asian region through dialogue. The BFA complements and is a network of other global organizations and fora. It is also, the first non-governmental forum in Asia supported by the governments of 26 countries.

BFA’s annual conference usually hosts more than 1,200 delegates from at least 30 countries representing both the private and government sectors to share their views on the trends and alliances brought about by the changing world dynamics. The conference provides an effective and freewheeling venue for dialogue and interaction on critical regional economic, energy, environment, scientific research, socio-cultural harmony and security issues as well as global concerns.

RPDEV Chairman Fidel V. Ramos, who is also the Chairman of the Boao Forum for Asia leads the long list of luminaries who attend the conference including heads of states and governments, and CEO’s of some of the world’s leading business groups.

This year, the RPDEV-led Philippine delegation was composed of former Ambassador to China and Yuchengco Group Chairman Alfonso Yuchengco, Clark Development Corporation President Antonio Ng, former Executive Secretary Ruben Torres, former Finance Secretary Roberto de Ocampo, Maritime League and NDCP President Commodore Carlos Agustin, Herma Group of Chairman Herminio Esguerra, DELBROS President Jose Eduardo Delgado, former NAPOCOR President Guido Delgado of GAAD and Associates, Philip Chien Jean of Global Conglomerates Inc., Ng Wai Sun of Hong Kong-based Jibsen Group, Chairman Joseph Lim of Solid Company Ltd., Hector Miole of PPA Southern Luzon Division, Alfonso Yuchengco III of Argosys Investments, Maria Raquel Paula Lichauco representing San Miguel Corporation, and newly elected RPDEV Trustee Datu Ibrahim Toto Paglas.

During that Conference, the Philippine Delegation was able to interact and dialogue with current and former heads of state and government, key ministers, heads and CEOs of business groups. Prominent among them were Vice President Zeng Qinghong of China, President Joseph Urusamal of the Federates States of Micronesia, President Janez Dmovsek of the Republic of Slovenia, Chief Executive Donald Tsang of Hong Kong SAR, Chief Executive Edmund Ho of Macao SAR and ADB President Haruhiko Kuroda. From the private sector, major international companies such as A.P. Moller-Maersk, Merrill Lynch International, Woodside Energy Inc., Ericsson Group, Deloitte, Touche Tohmatsu CAP Ltd. were represented.

Other Philippine members of the Boao Forum for Asia are the Asian Institute of Management (Foundation Member), RCBC and the SGV & Co.

Back to activities